Hochschwab, 2277m

I’m back in my alpine playground so it’s time I write another blog post. This time I’m in Austria and although I’ve hardly spend very much time here in the past I already feel like it’s home. The buildings, the food and the mountains deserve credit for this. Today saw me squealing in delight as the driver rounded a bend and I saw our day’s goal for the first time. I’d forgotten the look of such alpine wonders. The forecast of 34 degrees (Celsius) was not going to stop me now.

IMG_4557

We started in Bodenbauer with a lovely ascent through the woods before we ditched the tree line and put some serious ascent below us.

IMG_4563       IMG_4571

Check out the ladders in the photo below (looked like a caterpillar from a distance).

IMG_4577   IMG_4581   IMG_4583

Once you’re up there are an abundance of peaks to choose from.

IMG_4593    IMG_4596

And beautiful alpine flowers to appreciate.

IMG_4613   IMG_4586 IMG_4619

And animals such as marmots, chamois and ibex to behold.

IMG_4629

Not to mention the caaaaaaaaaake !

IMG_4633

(This apparently was a single serve)

Leave a Reply

