Day Eight: Above Junction Flat to Cameron Flat

I watched an impressive sunrise and then moved on through the last part of the bushfire razed territory.

Today I felt like I was simply ticking off the kilometres. It rained on and off and I came across a fair number of people once I was down out of the high mountains (maybe 10 or 20 or so people all up?) There were wire bridges to negotiate and I clearly was in energy deficit because I kept stopping to eat more food.

There were some pretty sections and plenty of flat sections.

The last part of today was the unhighlight of the hike (and possibly my whole trip). You have to walk through cow paddocks! My best piece of advice is to try to keep west if you can (there are two sets of orange markers). I took the eastern side and found myself face to face with many cows out to protect their calves. The very last thing I had to do was try to dodge speed boats soaring down the river between me and the road. I was glad to be done with this section!

IMG_3968

It’s ridiculously easy to get a hitch back to Wanaka once you hit the road. I think i stood there for 40 seconds. For the first time ever after completing a long hike I didn’t have a specific food craving. Hmmm what to eat for dinner ???

This was a classic eight-day hike and probably one of the best I’ve ever done. If I wasn’t out of time and food I would have carried on to Aspiring Hut and then over the Cascade saddle and finished in Glenorchy once more (where I’d been the day before starting this hike). I’ll be back NZ!

Here are the links to the other days: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7.

Leave a Reply

